Belarusian and German youth meet at EHU's Fall Academy in Germany

Belarusian and German youth meet at EHU's Fall Academy in Germany

Twenty young people from Belarus and Germany, including eight EHU students and alums, spent four days learning about each other's countries at EHU's first Fall Political Academy, organized by the EHU Förderinitiative–EHU’s support group in Germany.

“I was deeply impressed by the high level of knowledge showed by German students and their sincere interest in Belarus,” said EHU Professor Pavel Tereshkovich, who gave a lecture on Belarusian history and shared his personal story about his struggle for academic freedom in Belarus.

The Academy took place 17-20 October in Dresden and Berlin. Participants spent time discussing post-communist transformation, Belarusian and German politics, German federalism, social market economy, law, and history with political leaders and experts in these fields, including former Prime Minister of Saxony Prof. Dr. Georg Milbradt, MPs Andrea Dombois, Thomas Jurk, Gisela Kallenbach and Heiko Kosel, as well as Prof. Dr. Ursula Schaefer, and Prof. Dr. Ulrich Fastenrath. The program included excursions to the Parliament of the Federal State of Saxony, Dresden's famous "Alte Meister" art museum, Berlin's Brandenburg Gate, and other sites of cultural and political significance.

“I enjoyed not just the variety of lectures, but also the possibility to meet prominent people like the former prime minister of Saxony,” said EHU alumna and former student vice-president Marta Ladutko.

“I was touched that the German people care what is going in Belarus and wish to help EHU. I am glad to have had the opportunity to take part in the Academy and meet such nice people,” said EHU student Katsiaryna Rabtsava.

Ninety percent of participants judged the Fall Political Academy’s program as “excellent”. Belarusian participants said it was a great opportunity to practice their German language skills.
EHU's Fall Political Academy was sponsored by the Konrad Adenauer Foundation, the Technische Universität (TU) Dresden, the Ring Christlich Demokratischer Studenten Dresden, and the Student Council of TU Dresden.

Co-financed by:European Commission